Skip to main content
Design concept for a Palo Alto kitchen with flat-panel walnut cabinetry in a mid-century post-and-beam home

Permits and Process by Jurisdiction

Peninsula Kitchen Permits

Palo Alto’s instant kitchen permit and where it stops, the two cities that print the exemption naming cabinets, Menlo Park’s submittal list, and which office governs each Peninsula address.

14 min readUpdated October 2026Reviewed by Andrey Voronenko

Quick Answer

Does a Peninsula kitchen cabinetry project need a permit?

Each city issues its own permits; the County only for unincorporated pockets. Los Gatos and Cupertino publish the California Residential Code exemption that names cabinets and counter tops as finish work. Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Saratoga, Woodside and Atherton do not publish that sentence, so a cabinets-only project there is a question for the counter.

Once fixtures or circuits move, Palo Alto’s instant kitchen permit applies within the existing footprint, for licensed contractors only; changes to walls, windows, doors or structure, or a panel upgrade, send the project to standard plan check. Menlo Park publishes exactly what that plan set contains.

Key Takeaways

  • Los Gatos reproduces CRC Section 105.2 in full; item 6 exempts painting, papering, tiling, carpeting, cabinets, counter tops and similar finish work. Cupertino’s FAQ carries the same sentence for single-family homes.
  • Cupertino’s default runs the other way: if the item of alteration or construction is not listed, a permit is required — and plumbing permits are required for installation or replacement of plumbing fixtures.
  • Palo Alto’s Kitchen/Bath Remodel Instant Permit covers in-footprint remodels of single-family homes, ADUs and duplexes; it excludes changes to walls, windows, doors or structure and any panel upgrade, and is available only to licensed contractors.
  • Menlo Park’s kitchen submittal list: site plan, existing and proposed floor plans, mechanical, electrical and plumbing plans, structural if modified, Title 24 where required, plus load calculations.
  • Palo Alto and Menlo Park are digital-only on Accela; Saratoga and Woodside use eTRAKiT; Cupertino offers same-day counter issuance for small projects with complete plans.
  • Los Altos, Sunnyvale, Mountain View and the County could not be fetched at time of writing; their rows say so.

Who Issues a Kitchen Permit on the Peninsula?

Each city for its own limits; the County of Santa Clara only for unincorporated pockets. Two of the cities on this page are not even in Santa Clara County.

The Peninsula cluster we build in runs from Palo Alto down through Los Altos, Mountain View, Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga and Los Gatos, and up across the county line into Menlo Park, Atherton and Woodside in San Mateo County. Every one of those is an incorporated city or town with its own building division, and every one issues permits for addresses inside its limits. The County of Santa Clara’s Planning and Development Department is the building official only for unincorporated land — the hillside pockets above Saratoga and Los Gatos, the islands around Los Altos Hills and Stanford — and the County’s site could not be fetched at the time of writing, so its row in the table says exactly that and nothing more.

Palo Alto is the reference point because it publishes the most. Its Development Services operate from the Development Center at 285 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 100; the City has moved to an all-digital application and plan-review platform, all submittals must be uploaded through the Accela Citizen Access portal, and paper plans are no longer accepted. The City also publishes a warning worth repeating: payments are made exclusively through the official portal, and City staff will never email a PDF invoice asking for payment through a separate link. The same digital-only rule holds in Menlo Park, whose Building Division is fully digital on Accela at 701 Laurel Street, and in Saratoga and Woodside through their eTRAKiT portals.

Who may apply is published by Saratoga more plainly than by its neighbors: permit applications may be submitted by any party acting on behalf of the project, but final issuance is limited to the property owner or a licensed contractor, or an authorized agent of either. Cupertino’s FAQ adds that a homeowner does not have to hire a contractor for minor residential upgrades, and that a contractor who is hired needs a City of Cupertino business license in addition to the state licence, with no final inspection until every contractor and subcontractor on the project holds one.

Peninsula jurisdictions compared. Each cell is drawn from the page named in the final column and listed under Sources; rows marked not fetched are jurisdictions whose sites refused automated access at time of writing.
JurisdictionWho issuesTypical triggerWhere to applySource
Palo AltoCity of Palo Alto Development ServicesInstant kitchen permit stops at changes to walls, windows, doors, or structure, or a panel upgrade; those use the standard processAccela Citizen Access, all submittals digital; Development Center, 285 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 100paloalto.gov — Kitchen/Bath Remodel Instant Permit; Apply for a Building Permit
Los GatosTown of Los Gatos Building DivisionPermit mandatory for any erection, installation, extension, repair, or material alteration; cabinets and counter tops listed as exempt finish workTown online permits system for listed residential types; counter at 110 E. Main Streetlosgatosca.gov — Building; FAQ; Work Exempt from Building Permits (PDF)
CupertinoCity of Cupertino Building DivisionPermits required for remodeling and for electrical installations and plumbing fixtures; cabinets and counter tops exempt for single-family homes; unlisted work requires a permitCounter plan reviews for small projects, same-day issuance if plans complete; 10300 Torre Avenuecupertino.gov — Building; Building Division FAQ; Instant Permits
Menlo Park (San Mateo County)City of Menlo Park Building DivisionAn alteration is any construction, retrofit, or renovation to an existing structure, or a change in a building, electrical, gas, mechanical, or plumbing systemAccela, fully digital; 701 Laurel Streetmenlopark.gov — Building; Alterations; Kitchen Remodel Submittal Requirements
SaratogaCity of Saratoga Building DivisionPainting, wallpapering and similar finish work exempt; electrical service upgrades and plumbing or gas line modifications need a permit; cabinets not namedeTRAKiT; 13777 Fruitvale Avenuesaratoga.ca.us — Building Division; FAQ
Woodside (San Mateo County)Town of Woodside Building DepartmentPermit required to erect, construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish, or change the occupancy of a building or any electrical, gas, mechanical or plumbing systemeTRAKiT for some permits; 2955 Woodside Roadwoodsideca.gov — Building; FAQ
Atherton (San Mateo County)Town of Atherton Building DepartmentNot stated on the fetched page; the department issues permits for the erection and alteration of buildings80 Fair Oaks Laneathertonca.gov — Building
Los Altos, Sunnyvale, Mountain ViewEach city’s own building divisionNot stated — sites could not be fetched at time of writingConfirm with the cityNot fetched (HTTP 403)
Unincorporated Santa Clara County (Los Altos Hills area pockets, Saratoga and Los Gatos hills)County Planning and Development DepartmentNot stated — county site could not be fetched at time of writingConfirm with the CountyNot fetched (HTTP 403)
Peninsula jurisdictions compared. Each cell is drawn from the page named in the final column and listed under Sources; rows marked not fetched are jurisdictions whose sites refused automated access at time of writing.

When Does Cabinetry Need No Permit on the Peninsula?

Los Gatos and Cupertino print the Residential Code exemption that names cabinets and counter tops. The other cities on this page do not, and their rows say so.

The Town of Los Gatos publishes the 2022 California Residential Code’s Section 105.2 in full on its own letterhead. The preamble is the one every jurisdiction shares: exemptions from permit requirements shall not be deemed to grant authorization for any work to be done in violation of the code. Item 6 under Building is the sentence a homeowner replacing a kitchen wants: painting, papering, tiling, carpeting, cabinets, counter tops, and similar finish work. The same document’s electrical exemptions are narrow — reinstallation of plug receptacles, replacement of an overcurrent device of the same capacity in the same location, minor repair work — and its plumbing exemptions cover clearing stoppages and repairing leaks only where no valve, pipe or fixture is replaced or rearranged. The Town’s FAQ frames the rule from the other side: a building permit is mandatory when any erection, installation, extension, repair, or material alteration of a building takes place.

Cupertino’s Building Division FAQ carries the same finish-work sentence for single-family homes — painting, papering, tiling, carpeting, cabinets, counter tops and similar finish work — with two conditions attached: the work must not encroach on a subsurface drain, public utility easement, or required setback, and if the item of alteration or construction is not listed, a permit is required. Cupertino also states that building permits are required for new construction, remodeling and tenant improvements, that electrical permits are required for electrical equipment and electrical installations, and that plumbing permits are required for installation or replacement of plumbing fixtures. That last clause is worth reading twice: replacing a sink in the same position is, on Cupertino’s page, a plumbing permit, even where the cabinets around it are exempt.

The remaining cities are narrower or silent. Saratoga’s FAQ lists painting, wallpapering, and similar finish work as exempt and does not mention cabinets or counter tops; it names electrical service upgrades and plumbing or gas line modifications among projects that need a permit. Palo Alto’s permit pages do not publish an exemption list at all, and its instant kitchen permit — described below — is built on the assumption that a kitchen remodel is permitted work. Woodside’s FAQ gives the general definition and none of the exemptions. Menlo Park defines an alteration broadly and does not say what is exempt. Our rule for a cabinets-only project in those cities is the same as in San Francisco: describe the exact scope to the counter and ask, rather than borrow Los Gatos’s wording across a city line.

What Is Palo Alto’s Instant Kitchen Permit, and Where Does It Stop?

A licensed-contractor permit for in-footprint, non-structural kitchen and bath work, issued through the portal without plan check. Its exclusions are the triggers list in miniature.

Palo Alto’s Kitchen/Bath Remodel Instant Permit covers a kitchen or bath remodel of a residential single-family home, ADU, or duplex, within the existing kitchen or bath footprint. Changes to fixture placement, equipment and outlet count are allowed. It is not available where the project involves changes to walls, windows, doors, or structure, or where it requires a service panel or subpanel upgrade; those projects go through the City’s standard pre-application and building permit process. Only licensed contractors can apply for and obtain an instant permit, through an active Accela Citizen Access account; owner-builders must use the regular building permit process.

The paperwork tells you what the City is actually checking. Before applying, the contractor needs the number of kitchens and bathrooms, the number and type of new circuits, and the project valuation. If a circuit is added, a completed residential load calculation is required. Equipment specifications are uploaded before issuance. After issuance and before the final inspection can be scheduled, the record must carry an SB 407 water-fixture form, a smoke and carbon monoxide alarm self-certification, and the California Energy Code forms that the scope triggers; projects subject to the construction and demolition debris diversion program upload their debris tags as well. Fees are paid in the portal after the documents are uploaded; the page lists no amounts, and none appear here.

For a standard building permit in Palo Alto — a kitchen that opens a wall, enlarges a window, or needs a new panel — the City’s page says a complete submittal is converted into an official application, staff contact the applicant to pay the permit fees, and plan check begins on receipt of payment, with a first response the page puts at two to three business days. Palo Alto also runs an over-the-counter pilot for standalone residential mechanical, electrical and plumbing permits: a pre-application through Accela followed by a scheduled one-hour appointment, virtual or in person, for work such as electrical service upgrades, water heater and mechanical replacements, and repairs to electrical, gas, sewer and water systems. Projects with multiple components are not standalone permits and do not qualify, which is to say a kitchen remodel does not.

What Does a Peninsula City Want in a Kitchen Remodel Submittal?

Menlo Park publishes the list. It is a fair description of what every city on this page will ask for once a kitchen crosses into permitted work.

Menlo Park’s page on alterations to a single-family home defines an alteration as any construction, retrofit, or renovation to an existing structure, or a change in a building, electrical, gas, mechanical, or plumbing system, and notes that repairs and additions may require their own separate permits or may be combined with an alteration. Its kitchen-remodel submittal page then lists the minimum plan set: a site plan; existing and proposed floor plans; mechanical, electrical and plumbing plans, which may be drawn on the floor plan; a structural plan if the existing structural design is to be modified; and Title 24 energy calculations where the 2025 California Energy Code requires them. The supporting documents are the building permit application, structural calculations if structure changes, electrical load calculations, a signed Title 24 form, and an arborist report if heritage trees are near the construction.

Two Menlo Park requirements are easy to miss from a cabinetry drawing. The electrical plan must show compliance with pre-wiring for gas-fired appliances where applicable, under the City’s CALGreen pre-wiring-for-electrification rule, which applies to any addition or alteration to a space containing a gas-fired appliance. And the arborist report is triggered by trees near the work, not by the work itself. Neither is a cabinetry question, and both are the general contractor’s or designer’s to resolve, but both land on the same schedule our installation date depends on.

Cupertino sorts submittals by size rather than by list. Counter plan reviews are for small projects only, offered on weekday mornings, and if plans are complete a building permit can be issued the same day; the Santa Clara County Fire Department reviews plans at the counter on its own schedule. Cupertino’s instant residential permits — furnace replacement, whole-house repipe, reroof, panel upgrade, water heater, siding, EV charger, temporary power, solar — are limited to licensed contractors with a portal account, and the list does not include kitchen remodels; several entries also exclude historic properties, HOA properties and Eichler homes, which matters in a city with Eichler tracts. Saratoga’s express permits cover solar and energy storage, main panel upgrades and EV chargers. Los Gatos’s online permit system handles electrical service panels, copper repiping, water heaters and furnace or air-conditioner replacement, while its Building Division is responsible for plan review of all new construction, additions and remodels.

How Does Our Process Absorb a Peninsula Permit?

The city is settled in Discovery, the permit category in Conceptual Design, and the shop drawings are coordinated against the city’s plan set.

During Discovery we establish which city governs the address, whether the house is in a tract or an overlay the instant-permit lists exclude — Cupertino names Eichlers and historic properties — and where every fixture, circuit and gas line sits. Conceptual Design decides whether they move. A Palo Alto kitchen that keeps its walls, windows and doors and does not need a panel upgrade is an instant-permit project in the City’s own terms, pulled by the licensed contractor running the work; a kitchen that opens the wall to the family room is a standard application with plan check. The difference is a design decision, and we say so at the first sketch.

Design Development and Final Specifications produce our shop drawings against the plan set the remodel is filed under — in Menlo Park’s case, the existing and proposed floor plans and the electrical and plumbing plans the City lists. Fabrication in Rocklin proceeds while the city reviews, against dimensions we freeze only once the approved drawings fix the walls and rough-ins. Installation is set against the inspection sequence: Palo Alto will not schedule an instant-permit final until the post-issuance forms are on the record, and electrical and plumbing finals belong to the licensed trades that hold those permits. Our scope is the cabinetry — built in Rocklin, installed by our own crews — and the licensed electrician and plumber on a Peninsula remodel hold their own permits under the general contractor who holds the building permit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a permit to replace kitchen cabinets in Palo Alto?
Palo Alto’s permit pages do not publish an exemption list. Its Kitchen/Bath Remodel Instant Permit covers kitchen remodels within the existing footprint with no changes to walls, windows, doors or structure, issued to licensed contractors through Accela. For a cabinets-only project with no fixture or circuit change, ask Development Services at 285 Hamilton Avenue rather than assume.
Which Peninsula cities say cabinets are exempt?
Los Gatos reproduces the California Residential Code’s Section 105.2, whose item 6 lists painting, papering, tiling, carpeting, cabinets, counter tops and similar finish work. Cupertino’s FAQ carries the same sentence for single-family homes, provided the work does not encroach on a drain, easement or setback. Saratoga lists only painting, wallpapering and similar finish work; Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Woodside and Atherton do not publish a list.
Can a homeowner get Palo Alto’s instant kitchen permit?
No. The City states that only licensed contractors can apply for and obtain an instant permit, through an active Accela Citizen Access account, and that owner-builders must use the regular building permit process. Cupertino’s instant residential permits carry the same restriction.
What stops a kitchen qualifying for Palo Alto’s instant permit?
Changes to walls, windows, doors, or structure, or a project that requires a service panel or subpanel upgrade. Changes to fixture placement, equipment and outlet count are allowed within the existing footprint, with a residential load calculation if a circuit is added.
What does Menlo Park require for a kitchen remodel permit?
A site plan, existing and proposed floor plans, mechanical, electrical and plumbing plans, a structural plan if structure changes, and Title 24 calculations where required, plus the building permit application, electrical load calculations, a signed Title 24 form, structural calculations if applicable, and an arborist report if heritage trees are near the work. Applications are submitted digitally through Accela.
Does Santa Clara County issue permits in Palo Alto or Los Gatos?
No. Each incorporated city issues permits for addresses inside its limits. The County’s Planning and Development Department is the building official only for unincorporated land, such as the hillside pockets above Saratoga and Los Gatos. The County’s site could not be fetched at time of writing, so this page does not quote it.

Explore

Peninsula Kitchens, Permits and the Rest of the Guide

The neighboring jurisdiction pages, the Silicon Valley service-area pages for the cities named above, and the services this page refers to.

Continue Learning

Planning a kitchen and want to talk it through with the person who will build it?

Request a Design Consultation